The #1 Google Chromecast News, Discussion and Fan Site!


collapse

Author Topic: How I solved my "no sound" issue.  (Read 170597 times)

Dassouda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 1
    • View Profile
How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« on: January 22, 2014, 05:14:44 PM »
I noticed a lot of people complaining about not getting sound from tab-casting, youtube, netflix, or what-have-you. And when I first hooked up my ChromeCast, I had the exact same problem and I fixed it very easily. I know that a lot of people, once they fix their issue, don't bother to report back and explain what they did, thus leaving the community with un-answered questions. Now, that being said, I'm not saying my fix will fix your issue, but it fixed mine and it should be at least considered "noteworthy".

First, my setup:
I have a 50" Vizio 1080p HDTV that I bought from Sams Club in late 2012 around Christmas time.
Model number: E500I-A1

The router I'm using is a Netgear N600.

This is what happened:
I plugged it in, set it up via the software on my Late 2013 27" iMac and everything worked flawlessly (as far as setup goes). The video was 1080p, streaming was amazing, delay between pause/play to TV was less than 1 second. But there was no audio.

I tried various steps, troubleshooting, and changing ports, resetting up the device, etc, all to no avail. So what solved it?

Turning off the TV, and turning it back on.

I pressed play on a video that would run longer than a few minutes, and rebooted my TV, when it came back on, I heard the sound. The video was still outstanding. So maybe that is the problem with a lot of these reports. I just wanted to report how I fixed my issue.

carteroeser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 12:53:02 AM »
Just for public info, my chromecast wasnt playing sound and i tried all other solutions. My solution was resetting my TV (Vizio VX240M) to default settings.

Levi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2015, 02:40:21 AM »
First time poster here, and I too had an issue when I installed my chromecast 2nd gen to my TV.

No sound form my laptop or Android phone

After 4 frustrating hours, I figured it had to be the TV.
Checked the HDMI settings, they were set for Analog, change it to Digital...the rest was music to my ears.

P.S the most frustrating forum to join to date, then to post.....

TopDownRide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2017, 06:43:59 PM »
I solved mine by changing the Audio Settings in my Vizio TV to "fixed" analog audio out.


My devices and equipment:

Vizio D65u-D2 65" 4K UHD Smart HDTV
Google Chromecast Ultra
Samsung Galaxy Note 5

Running on Comcast Xfinity Extreme 150 (but only getting max 29 mbps on the Vizio and can't figure it out)

Network = 5GHz isolated
Router = Apple AirPort Extreme
Modem = Arris sb6183



My issue occurred when trying to cast the Google Play movie trailers in the Google Play App from my Note 5 to the Vizio TV.

There was video but no audio.

I could 'reboot' the Chromecast on the Vizio (via the Google Home App on my Note 5 in the 'card' for the Vizio, under Devices, click the 3-dot icon top right for menu/Settings options  and select 'reboot') but that would only correct the audio for 1 Play of that trailer.  If I tried to play any other content, the audio was once again missing.


I read these posts and played with Vizio Settings.

The Fix:

Vizio Menu >> Audio >> Analog Audio Out >> select "Fixed".

That should not have any effect on the Chromecast Ultra or casting, but it does.

I hope this helps others - Cheers!

markireland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2017, 06:45:45 AM »
I want to hear the sound thru headphones that are plugged into my pc.
I assume the casting is happening over wi-fi and not thru the ethernet cable.

How?

Thanks

stuartajc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2017, 03:39:08 AM »
I want to hear the sound thru headphones that are plugged into my pc.
I assume the casting is happening over wi-fi and not thru the ethernet cable.

How?

Thanks
I don't think that is possible, because when it casts, it's the Chromecast getting the video and audio streams, your PC is just controlling it. You would somehow have to get the audio back to your PC.

Sent from my Nexus 9 using Tapatalk


rfrich

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2017, 02:00:45 PM »
reply to # 1 on:
My setup is Samsung 47" HDTV w/ 5.1 surround sound (only using 3.1), Pioneer 1019AH AVR, Samsung Blu Ray & Tivo Bolt.
Tried most of the suggestions to no avail. Wanted to maintain 3.1 stereo without having to go into settings and change speaker setup. Simplest solution was to unplug CC and plug it into the available HDMI on the AVR. Works great!! Requires changing HDMI (source) on both the TV and the AVR. My TV lists one of my TV's HDMI's as "Chromecast" and the AVR says the CC is using it's HDMI 2. I'm guessing all of the devices are now using the only "out" HDMI going to the TV for audio. I'm happy with it, as I only have to switch "sources" on both the TV and the AVR.

Shampster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Popularity: 0
    • View Profile
Re: How I solved my "no sound" issue.
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2017, 10:14:05 AM »


First time poster here, and I too had an issue when I installed my chromecast 2nd gen to my TV.

No sound form my laptop or Android phone

After 4 frustrating hours, I figured it had to be the TV.
Checked the HDMI settings, they were set for Analog, change it to Digital...the rest was music to my ears.

P.S the most frustrating forum to join to date, then to post.....

Just wanted to share that I fixed my issue by unplugging TV and CC for 10secs then turning them back on. Spent an hour tweaking settings when that's really what it took.

 


* 'Like' And 'Follow' Us!

* Chromecast Market